Stirling 21st - 23rd September 2018

McIlvanney Prize 2017 Longlist Announced

Posted on 20th June

We’re pleased to announce the 12-strong McIlvanney Prize Scottish Crime Book of the Year longlist for 2017!


Those up for the £1,000 prize include:


Lin Anderson – None But the Dead

Chris Brookmyre – Want You Gone

Ann Cleeves – Cold Earth

Helen Fields – Perfect Remains

Val McDermid – Out of Bounds

Claire MacLeary – Cross Purpose

Denise Mina – The Long Drop

Owen Mullen – Games People Play

Ian Rankin – Rather Be the Devil

Craig Robertson – Murderabilia

Craig Russell – The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid

Jay Stringer – How to Kill Friends & Implicate People


The judges will be chaired by Director of Granite Noir, Lee Randall, comedian and crime fiction fan, Susan Calman and journalist, Craig Sisterson who between them cover three continents. The finalists will be revealed at the beginning of September and the winner announced at our Opening Gala reception on Friday 8th September, which you can buy tickets to attend.

The Caledonian Crime Writing Festival, Scottish Company No SC404578, Registered office: Caledonian Exchange, 19A Canning Street, Edinburgh EH3 8HE.
The Caledonian Crime Writing Festival is a Scottish Registered Charity, known as Bloody Scotland; Charity No SC042615